Car Accident Representation in Florida & Georgia
Experienced Car Accident Attorneys in Georgia & Florida
Car Accident Law Explained
Anyone who was injured in a car accident may be entitled to compensation. Do not talk to the insurance company before speaking with an attorney because they will try to use anything you say against you and will give you less money than your case is worth. We will hold the insurance company accountable and make sure you are fully compensated for your current and future medical bills, as well as your pain and suffering, and any other damages you suffered.
What are damages?
Damages are the things you suffered or had to pay for because of the crash. If you go to the hospital after the crash to be checked out by a doctor, the hospital bill you will have to pay is included in your damages. Similarly, if you missed time at work because of the crash, your lost wages or PTO you had to use is included in your damages. However, damages are not only money, they also include your “pain and suffering” and loss of enjoyment of life. For example, if you had a hobby you had to miss, this loss of enjoyment is also part of your damages. Maybe you play basketball with your friends every weekend and had to miss out because you hurt your knee or you had to sit out of your season of school sports/activities. We will fight for you to make sure the insurance company takes everything you suffered through into consideration when evaluating your case.
What can I get from insurance?
There are a few different types of insurance coverage that you may be entitled to when you are injured in a car accident depending on where the accident occurred. Rest assured, Defender Donahue Law will take care of all dealings with the insurance company, explain what coverage is available for your particular case, and fight to get you the best outcome possible for everything you have gone through.
- Georgia: 25/50 Bodily Injury coverage is the mandatory minimum amount of insurance you must carry in Georgia. Uninsured Motorists coverage or “UM” is the insurance coverage that will pay for your damages if you are injured by someone who did not have insurance on their car or if they did not carry enough insurance.
- Florida: 10/20 Personal Injury Protection or “PIP” is the mandatory minimum type of coverage you must carry to own a vehicle in Florida. Your PIP coverage will pay for the first $10,000 of your medical expenses. Bodily Injury coverage is an additional type of coverage you can access after PIP if you meet certain qualifying factors. Uninsured Motorists coverage or “UM” is the insurance coverage that will pay for your damages if you are injured by someone who did not have insurance on their car or if they did not carry enough insurance.
- NOTE: the two (2) numbers in 25/50 or 10/20 are the per person and per incident policy limits. The first number is the per person and the second number is the per incident limits. This means if a policy is 25/50, there is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per incident. This can become a problem when there are multiple people injured in a car crash because not everyone can receive $25,000 if there are more than two (2) claimants due to the $50,000 per incident limit.
What should you do if you were injured in a car accident?
Contact us ASAP! Car accident cases should be handled by an experienced lawyer from Defender Donahue Law. A car accident case could change your life and cause serious injuries. We will hold the responsible party accountable and make sure you are fully compensated for your current and future medical bills, as well as your pain and suffering, loss of income, and other possible damages.